Skip to content

20 Years of Usenet Timeline

December 7, 2004

Frosty told me about this cool memorable moments in Usenet timeline, but apparently didn’t think it was blogworthy. (I’ll snatch those dregs, thank you very much!)

Cool to see the first mention of Sun made this list, dated Apr 16 1982.

A quick search on myself turned up some stuff dated to 1995. Funny to see what my interests were back then: selling some old 1MB SIPPS, asking questions about bike maintenance, newbie questions on how to use cgi-lib.pl, etc. The earliest post I could tie to myself was a post to alt.2600 asking about the origin of xyzzy. Guess I haven’t changed much in the past 10 years…

Its cool to see some of this stuff being preserved, but it makes me wonder about privacy every time I consider posting something personal on the interweb. You never know when it might come back to you- good or bad- via a Google background search.

From → Interweb

One Comment
  1. Ha ha! Thanks Rama 🙂

Leave a Reply

