Skip to content

Thou Shalt Covet My Desktop

December 1, 2006

The internals of my bling new workstation: an Ultra 40 (which you can buy now via Sun’s new store that I helped deliver!)

2 Dual-Core AMD Opterons – Model 280, 8 GB (4 x 2 GB DIMMs), NVIDIA Quadro FX 3500 Graphics Accelerator, 1250 GB (2 x 500 GB, 1 x 250 GB) 7200 rpm SATA Disks, 2 x 10/100/1000 Ethernet, 2 PCI-E x16, 2 PCI-E x4, 2 Conventional PCI. Its running Solaris 10u3, and besides the cordless laser mouse not working (the plain jane corded one is still occupied by my previous workstation), everything went super smoothly- even the ZFS mirror of the dual 500G disks (check this out for just how easy ZFS makes things.) Best part about it, the appropriate hostname: large. Now I’m rama@large. Sweeeet.

From → Gadgets

8 Comments
  1. ThinGuy permalink

    Nice box, but even nicer job on the new Sun Store. It’s been in need of a major overhaul for quite some time. Really, really great!

  2. Chris Melissinos permalink

    *AHEM* Rama. So how do I get one to test all of these sweet Java games and Web 2.0 apps? 🙂

  3. Thinguy- thanks. It was a major effort by a lot of people, I was just a cog… Chris- last I looked, you had a sweeter setup than most people at Sun! But if you really want a U40 (or know of someone qualified), I’m sure I can hook you up if you take my job req (posted here: http://www.sun.com/corp_emp/search.cgi?req=551466&p=) for a web 2.0 savvy developer. 😉

  4. Wassy permalink

    Oh great, show off to the rest of staff. You forgot to mention that it took you *months* to get that thing up and running, and you’re not even running nevada… Wussy!

  5. Matthew permalink

    Wait a second. I seriously doubt it is up and running such that he can swap from the “older” workstation to this “old” workstation.

  6. Sure- team up on me why don’t ya? 😉
    Wassy- I may have had the workstation for a while (been kinda busy with something called ecom initially, as you should well remember), but I just got the two 500G disks last Friday- which finally gave me the comfort level to migrate over. My old tape drive isn’t compatible, and as it serves as my mailserver, I’d be SOL if my one and only disk died.
    Matthew- I recall offering you the machine when it first came ’cause it’d be a while until I could get to it- and I’d just order a replacement for me. YOU turned it down. ‘Nuf said.

  7. Matthew permalink

    Well, had I know at the time you would still not be on that box, I would have taken it in a second. Though, isn’t commandment number 11 something about not coveting another man’s new computer?

  8. [Trackback] Like rama I happen to be the fortunate recipient of a shiny new Ultra 40 . I am up and running with it and so far it is great. Since I work from home, I have big plans for this system. My goal is to use it and Solaris 10 as my one and only computer…

Leave a Reply

