Skip to content

Blog Tag: FiveThings

December 20, 2006

I’ve been infected by the “blog tagging” Five Things meme, courtesy of Linda. While initially reluctant to play, after following it upstream further than I had the patience for, it proved an interesting variant on the Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon. So I might as well do my part and spread the virus… šŸ™‚

Here are my five things you may not know about me:

1. As a small child, my mother used to cut my hair as well as make/sew several of my clothes- giving me a slight third-world flair that emotionally scarred me for some time.
2. Until July of this year, I’ve only owned a single car. (1996-2006). Prior to that, I was able to make due with a bicycle.
3. I enjoy alternate forms of food preparation, like smoking, fermenting, and sous vide.
4. One of my personality traits is to heavily favor the smallest/simplest/cheapest solution for the problem. (Note: I didn’t say “best” solution).
5. I’ve never grown a beard or moustache.

I’m tagging Igor, Droo, Watt, bbum, and twothirds.

From → root

7 Comments
  1. Any photos you’d like to share with us WRT to #1?

  2. Linda: no. EOM.

  3. Josh Simons permalink

    For #1, you were scared or scarred?? Or both? šŸ™‚

    For #2, this is more or less interesting depending on how old you are!

  4. Tom permalink

    Jeeze man, ring in the new year with some facial hair. It’s fun and everybody loves mustaches!

  5. Josh- good points. The entry has been edited to help clarify both items. Tom- I’ll only grow a beard on extended camping trips. We just need to plan a long Yosemite back country route. šŸ˜‰

  6. I feel your pain on #1. I have vivid memories the night before school picture day in elementary school. My Dad, who usually cut my bangs, was on a business trip. My mother and aunt decided to try. One word comes to mind: Diagonal

  7. Maybe no facial hair, but you had some nice “Beverly Hills 90210”-style side burns for a while.

Leave a Reply

