Skip to content

AAPL to PALM: checkmate?

January 9, 2007

Matthew pointed out a statement made by the Palm CEO a couple months ago:

Responding to questions at a Churchill Club breakfast gathering last Thursday, Colligan reportedly “laughed off the idea” that the Cupertino, Calif.-based company would experience any immediate success in delivering a device to the fastidious smart phone market. “We’ve learned and struggled for a few years here figuring out how to make a decent phone,” he said. “PC guys are not going to just figure this out. They’re not going to just walk in.”

Ummm…. ouch:

.

That doesn’t necessarily mean the device is going to sink all Palm and RIM devices, but the market was sure impressed. The real proof of its success will be months down the line, when people are using it successfully in the wild. It could be a great device, but without the support from at least one major network provider (ideally more than one), it’ll be severely crippled. Here’s to hoping Apple has more success in this space than its predecessors. (hint: Sprint has an unlimited data plan for [relatively] cheap.)

Well I, for one, welcome our new smartphone overlords. As a consumer, more competition in this area is great. IMO, Palm has been resting on its laurels. (hey bbum: when’s the ‘friends and family’ discount kick in for you guys? ;))

From → Gadgets

6 Comments
  1. The iphone looks like a total PITA to use with no tactile feedback. Also Apple made a big deal about getting rid of the stylus, but I routinely use a finger stylus on my Treo 650 without problems. But it’s cool that the phone can run a real OS.

  2. The “real OS” thing is major IMO. I’ve written apps for Palm OS a long time ago– massive PITA. I’ll trade my stylus for a real platform anyday…

  3. Tom permalink

    Apples been working on this for years and have always been innovators of UI and functionality with their products. I’m giving them the benefit of the doubt and say this UI is going to rock, be easy to use and they put more than enough R&D that a stylus isn’t needed. I’m glad I didn’t jump ship a few months ago and get the Q because I’m bored of my RAZOR. Too bad I have to wait till June but I want one!

  4. I am still on the fence. While I think it looks cool and the idea of a “real” OS in there is tempting, I have no real need for it. Perhaps if I traveled more? I have been thinking lately of moving off the Treo and onto something smaller/simpler anyway.

  5. matthew: “no real need for it”? remind me of that next time you ask for a desktop upgrade. 😉

  6. Ha! With all of the nice compute devices sitting right here in front of me, my use of the Treo feature set has plummeted dramatically. There is always a place for a desktop here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

