Skip to content

What I Ate Today

September 8, 2007

It seems I’ve got a lot of lurking readers who were intrigued by my recent food related postings. As I’ve got time to kill while the iPod tediously resyncs several gigs of music, I thought I’d log today’s gastronomic activity:

  • Breakfast: Cappuccino made with whole milk and Sweet Maria’s liquid amber espresso blend; parmigiano reggiano french toast.
  • Lunch: halibut with a balsamic reduction. This made me remember how much I love balsamic vinegar, so dessert was strawberries with a small glass of balsamic on the side. (Mrs R was not so into this, so more for me!)
  • Dinner: Grilled dark meat turkey burgers on sourdough and a homebrewed wheat beer.

On tomorrow’s menu, we’ve got 2 Cornish game hens (I’m toying with the idea of fashioning some sort of powered rotisserie for the BBQ- but will probably get lazy and just bake them) and a 1/2 gallon of unpasteurized and unhomogenized (aka "raw") milk. Not really sure what I’ll do with the later yet- and its only good for a few days- but I couldn’t pass it up when I saw it. I didn’t even realize it was legal to sell in the US.

From → Cooking

3 Comments
  1. jedm permalink

    Where did you get the milk?

  2. steff bugielski permalink

    Raw milk is avail. in many states. I am a cetified raw milk dairy in NY state. It should last you over a week if it was purchased fresh.

  3. nice. looks tasty.
    I thought you´d get a chuckle out of this, but last thursday i went with some classmates to a market near Quito and actually ended up buying 2 live chickens and a handful of other things to make "caldo de gallinas." (chicken soup)
    It was pretty interesting considering this was soup made "literally" from scratch. As we killed and feathered the chickens I was actually thinking it would have made a perfect post for your blog. I don´t have pics right now, but i´ll try and get ém posted.

Leave a Reply

