Skip to content

My 2007 Christmas Wishlist

November 26, 2007

Inspired by Skrocki’s list, I thought I’d post one of my own. I’m not sharing this in hopes someone will play Santa- most of these are quite expensive- more so y’all know what kinda of stuff I’m interested in.

  • SteriPEN Adventurer Handheld Water Purifier. I like backpacking, and the idea of surviving major catastrophes. 🙂 I don’t like chemicals or filters that can expire. Not sure what the shelf life of the Steripen is, but I suspect its much better than the alternatives. Plus its so easy and cool lookin.
  • Old World style cast iron grinder. Ever since watching an episode of Good Eats, I’ve meant to get into making my own sausage.
  • Audi S5. Its hawt.
  • A Harris bipod, Leupold Mark 4 scope and a versatile, all-around hunting rifle equally capable of bringing down wild boar or deer. [ahem, homemade sausage] Any suggestions?
  • A Honda HRR216K3VXA rear-bagging mower. I’m actually pleased with my econo mulching mower for the price point, but this time of year, there are so many leaves on the ground I would love to just roll over them with a mower and have then mulched and bagged ‘for free’. Plus I see myself mowing lawns for some time to come, so getting a nice mower makes sense.
  • Nikon 18-200VR. Allen is showing this really is a versatile all-around single lens (although the nighttime shots are curiously missing from his Flickr contributions?) Paired with one of my wide aperture lens however, this might be the only 2 lens I really need.
  • Aprilia SMV 750 Dorsoduro. Perhaps the first motard I like, but the maintenance schedule will likely scare me away, just like the other Aprilias.
  • A much larger burner and kettle for beer making. (Seriously tempted to get natural gas plumbed out to the backyard so I can quit dorking around with propane tanks too.) My 7.5 gallon turkey fryer setup is nice and portable, but the 6 gallon batch capacity means I’m brewing more often than I’d like to be. The flip side is the beer is always fresh, but at least with more capacity I have options.
  • Dr Suess Blue Green Abelard. Spied this in a gallery in Denver about 10 years ago and regret not getting it. Now they’re selling for insane amounts I wouldn’t consider paying, but it doesn’t mean I still don’t want it.
  • NEW:Rancilio Rocky doserless burr grinder.
From → Gadgets

3 Comments
  1. Unfortunately the SteriPEN takes /batteries/… Not something you’ll find me wanting to cary, or depend on having extras of in a catastrophe.
    For the rifle, go for a 7mm. A great all-round hunting rifle.

  2. @levi: batteries aren’t the best thing to throw in the nuclear bunker for long term storage, but I don’t see that as the primary use for a steripen either. (i’d probably just use matches and/or bleach to sterilize much larger quantities when I’m not on the move.) re: 7mm, do you have a favorite brand?

  3. Ohhh, nice list.
    As for the night shots with the VR lens, I actually don´t have too many of them A) because I´m just not much of a night photography person (yet), B) because even with a VR lens you really still need a tripod (maybe i´ll see what can happen at iso1600), and C) because here in South America it´s considered a big no-no to walk around with a $1500 camera at night, so I usually keep it put away at night or leave it locked in the hostal.
    When I get home I´ll actually be living with the folks for a little while which will be cool because my dad actually has an external burner and large pot at home which I can use for homebrew, so hopefully that will be enough inspiration to try some new batches of beer. That 14 gallon tank with spigot looks schweeeet though.

Leave a Reply

