Skip to content

My Current Camera Gear

December 11, 2008

I just replaced my Nikon D70 with a Nikon D90, and it no longer seemed right to house it in a hand-me-down camera bag (courtesy of @lowbit) that wasn’t quite big enough, or in the neoprene wrapper thrown in my Timbuk2. So I picked up a Domke F-803 (the makers of the awesome Gripper strap @lowbit turned me on to), along with a Domke FA-210 insert, which is wide enough to house the camera body and mounted lens, a Nikon 18-200mm VR with a B+W 010 UV filter. In the insert that comes with the bag, there’s just enough room for my Nikon 35mm F/2 with a B+W 010 UV filter and Nikon SB-600 flash. There are also some small pockets for the iR remote, circular polarizer, extra memory cards, etc. Here’s how it all fits together (but the 35mm now sits below the flash so its more secure):

It’d be great if there were room for my Nikon 50mm F/1.8 also, but in reality I rarely swap lens in the field, so I can always pack the 50mm rather than the 35mm if the need arises. The latching hardware has its pros and cons- it’s quite difficult to unlatch, which could deter pickpockets I suppose, but also does quite well at keeping me out. I am glad there’s no velcro though. Whenever I go to reach for my camera in the Timbuk2, the loud velcro “sssscritch!” often thwarts my attempts to preserve candid moments. So far I’m digging the bag- perfect size, great build quality.

From → Gadgets

7 Comments
  1. Looks like a great bag. The velcro on my Crumpler is a big detractor in quiet places.

  2. waww good machine

  3. good machine

  4. Thanks dostum, very nice, super machine…

  5. Very nice camera. I was thinking of getting my fiance’ one for christmas.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Canon S90 Setup « The New Sect of Rama

Leave a Reply

